A Pause, Some Quotes, and a word about Play…..

Standard

Here we take a pause – our eight weeks studying early childhood development has come to an end. I say we have only paused in our journey – to that end, I want to thank those who have taken interest in my blog and what I have had to say on the subject of child development. I want to especially thank ECeducator2011 and Gregory Uba for your contributions to my blog and on your own blogs. They have been very insightful and I have enjoyed reading them very much.

So this week’s assignment (besides thanking people for visiting and contributing to our blogs) was to share quotes and/or video.

So here are some of my favorite quotes about play – and then I found this wonderful video that I wish I had done- as it sums up why I am so passionate about being an advocate for play:

“Every time we teach a child something, we keep him from inventing it himself. On the other hand, that which we allow him to discover for himself will remain with him visible for the rest of his life.”

Jean Piaget

In play a child always behaves beyond his average age, above his daily behavior. In play it is as though he were a head taller than himself.

Lev Vygotsky
Russian psychologist
1896–1934

The opposite of play is not work. It’s depression.

Brian Sutton-Smith
Contemporary American folklorist

The debt we owe to the play of the imagination is incalculable.

Carl Jung
Swiss psychoanalyst
1875–1961

If you want to be creative, stay in part a child, with the creativity and invention that characterizes children before they are deformed by adult society.

Jean Piaget
Swiss philosopher
1896–1980

“The child amidst his baubles is learning the action of light, motion, gravity, muscular force….”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson (writer)

“The most effective kind of education is that a child should play amongst lovely things.”

~ Plato (Greek philosopher)

“Play gives children a chance to practice what they are learning…They have to play with what they know to be true in order to find out more, and then they can use what they learn in new forms of play.

~ Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood)

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for this insightful video – it puts all my thoughts into a very easy to remember all the great things about play. It came at just the right time as I am in the process of completing a fetac level six course on pre-school education.

  2. Wonderful quotes! Thank you for putting this informative video up as well! I am an advocate for play in my classroom as well!

    Thank you for always posting such informative blogs! I have enjoyed having you in class! Thank you for the wonderful information that you have provided! I will use it!

    Susan

  3. Great quotes and videos. You always have wonderful things to contribute to your classmates. I would like to thank you first hand for all of the information you have shared with us over the last eight weeks. I would also like to thank you for your input in discussions, posts, and blogs. Your thoughts and advice were greatly appreciated. Thank you for all that you have done and I wish you nothing but the best throughout your educational journey.

Leave a Reply

